School of Jazz, 1957

Evening Event Schedule


Wednesday, August 14, 8:30 PM - PRIMITIVE BEGINNINGS OF JAZZ - Willis James

Thursday, August 15, 8:40 PM - CONCERT, Music Barn: Mahalia Jackson

Friday, August 16, 8:30 PM - IMPACT OF PERSONALITIES ON JAZZ - Rex Stewart

Saturday, August 17, 8:30 PM - JAZZ IN TELEVISION - Frank Nichols

Sunday, August 18, 8:40 PM - CONCERT, Music Barn: Wilbur De Paris and his New Orleans Jazz Band

Monday, August 19, 8:30 PM - THE MUSIC OF AFRICA - Fela Sowande

Tuesday, August 20, 8:30 PM - JAZZ AND ITS CORRELATION TO THE ARTS - Rudi Blesh and Barry Ulanov

Wednesday, August 21, 8:30 PM - TECHNIQUES IN JAZZ COMPOSITION - George Russell, assisted by School Faculty

Thursday, August 22, 8:30 PM - MANAGEMENT AND BOOKING OF JAZZ - Monte Kay, Rudy Viola, Pete Kameron, and Jack Whittemore

Friday, August 23 - JAZZ FRONTIERS - Lennie Tristano and Bill Russo

Saturday, August 24, 8:30 PM - PROBLEMS IN JAZZ RECORDING - Nesuhi Ertegun and Jack Tracy
NEW DIRECTIONS IN JAZZ - Teo Macero

Sunday, August 25, 8:40 PM - CONCERT, Music Barn - Oscar Peterson Trio, Dizzy Gillespie, Max Roach

Monday, August 26, 8:30 PM - JAZZ AND ITS PLACE IN AMERICAN CULTURE - Eric Larrabee

Tuesday, August 27, 8:30 PM - FUNCTION OF THE CRITIC IN JAZZ - John Wilson (The New York Times), Nat Hentoff (Saturday Review of Literature), Bill Coss (Metronome)

Wednesday, August 28, 8:30 PM - PANEL DISCUSSION - Evaluation of the School of Jazz by panel of Faculty and Students

Thursday, August 29, 8:40 PM - CONCERT, Music Barn - SCHOOL OF JAZZ ON PARADE… A jam session concert by the entire student and faculty groups now participating in the School of Jazz.